8 in stock

SKU: The Songs of Rob Donn Category: Tags: ,


Drine, The Songs of Rob Donn

Traditional Gaelic songs from the North West Highlands. Rob Donn Mackay (1714) was one of the area’s most prolific and talented bards. His songs are brimming with humour and spirit and, as you hear on this album, his more serious side brought us songs of depth and poignancy. Drine, the multimedia show, was commissioned by Taigh na Gàidhlig Mhealanais and performed at Celtic Connections 2014 to celebrate the bard’s 300th anniversary. Talented Sutherland musicians, Suzanne Houston, Carol-Anne MacKay, Rhona Sutherland, Catriona MacLeod and James Graham invite singers from the area to perform with them a selection of the bard’s best loved and lesser known songs.

Track Listing:

1. Tha Gruagach Àraidh Shuas an Àiridh

2. ’S Trom leum an Àiridh

3. Nigheanag a’ Chòta Bhuidhe

4. Gur Muladach mi’n Còmhnuidh

5. Jigs

6. Faolan

7. Briogais Mhic Ruairidh

8. ’S e do Bhàs, Mhr. Mhorchaidh

9. Tha Mo Ghaols’ aig Donal

10. Gleann Gollaidh

11. Ged is Socrach mo Leapaidh

12. Joe MacKenzie’s

13. Thèid mi Cuide riut


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Drine”