Iona Fyfe


Out of stock

SKU: Dark Turn of Mind Category: Tags: ,


Dark Turn of Mind is the new release from MG ALBa Scots Singer of the Year, Iona Fyfe. The 6-track EP, features ballads which were collected in both Aberdeenshire and the Appalachian Mountains and draws on the repertoire of singers such as Jean Ritchie and Jeannie Robertson. Dark Turn of Mind features material written by Gregory Alan Isakov and title-track writer, Gillian Welch.

Dark Turn of Mind follows on from Iona’s debut album, Away From My Window, which was held to critical acclaim and received nationwide airplay on programmes such as BBC Radio 2 The Folk Show with Mark Radcliffe, BBC Radio 6 Gideon Coe, BBC Radio Scotland’s Travelling Folk, Take The Floor and BBC Radio Nan Gaidheal. Set for release in January 2019, Dark Turn of Mind was produced by Graham Rorie at Rumley Sounds and features a stellar folk line-up of musicians such as Aidan Moodie (Siobhan Miller, Gnoss), Rory Matheson (TRIP) and Graham Rorie (Gnoss).

Aberdeenshire folksinger Iona Fyfe has become one of Scotland’s finest young ballad singers, rooted deeply in the singing traditions of the North East of Scotland. At twenty-years-old, Iona has established a strong voicing of place in her repertoire and has been described as a “major young voice in the continuous skein of the ballad tradition” (Irish Music Magazine)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Iona Fyfe”